Al-Attiyah and Price, crowned as Dakar kings

In News_dust by


Peru welcomed the 41st edition of the Dakar rally that finished last week in Lima after 10 punishing stages. A heroic Toby Price won the bike race, Nasser Al-Attiyah became champion in car category, Nico Cavigliasso unprecedentedly dominated in quads category, Chaleco López succeeded in his comeback as SxS driver, and Eduard Nikolaev picked up his fourth title in trucks.

Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah became a three times winner in the car category, taking no risks on the last stage to Lima and finishing with a 46-minute lead. Toyota, the constructor which has most probably entered the largest number of vehicles in Dakar’s history, won the car category for the first time.

Russian Eduard Nikolaev secured his third successive Dakar title, and fourth in total, in the truck category with Kamaz. The three-time winner of the event finally reacted flawlessly with a splendid victory on stage 9 to regain the lead and drive his truck onto the highest step of the podium.

Beyond the winners, 179 riders, drivers and crews (75 bikes, 15 quads, 76 cars, 20 SxS and 13 trucks) reached Lima to enjoy a podium ceremony at the end of the day on Magdalena beach, where it all started.

Cavigliasso: Dakar Hall of Famer

Nico Cavigliasso has entered the ranks of the very best on only his second Dakar, during which he dominated the quad category by winning nine of the ten stages. The record for victories on a single edition is still held by Pierre Lartigue in the car category, with 10 specials in the bag… but on a Dakar rally that was sixteen stages long.

Three other competitors can boast a score of 9 stages on an edition: Hubert Auriol (on a bike in 1984), Jacky Ickx (in a car in 1984) and Vladimir Chagin (in a truck in 2010), but nobody has ever reached the phenomenal percentage of success achieved by the Argentinean quad rider.